How Many Countries Does Amazon Operate In? [[year] List]

If you played a game of word association, it wouldn’t be surprising to see that most people think of the United States whenever they hear the word “Amazon.”

But did you know that this multi-billion dollar company operates in many countries around the world and is still seeking to expand? 

How Many Countries Does Amazon Operate In?

Amazon fully operates in 13 countries in the world. These countries include the United States, Mexico, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, Spain, Italy, Ireland, France, Germany, India, China, and Japan. Amazon ships to over 100 countries and has the largest international online population of 1.2 billion.

How vast is this retail empire that Amazon is building, and what plans do they have to expand further? Continue reading to find out!

Is Amazon Worldwide? operates in about 13 countries across five continents, including the Asia-Pacific region, Europe, and the Americas. The company is headquartered in Seattle, Washington.

Amazon is consistently ranked as one of the most successful corporations in the retail industry worldwide. This rapidly expanding business is responsible not only for a significant amount of online sales but also for deciding which shipments go to which locations.

But why is Amazon a household name? Amazon is popular worldwide because they do more than sell and transport retail products. It provides customers with computing services, an electronic library, digital material, and local grocery store discounts—services needed worldwide.

Amazon’s internet presence has been one of its most successful competitive advantages. Amazon has been strengthening its online digital expertise and using its e-commerce experience to impact retailers worldwide.

Amazon is truly a global company. It has over 185 warehouses globally, with 110 in the U.S. alone. While Amazon does not operate in every part of the world, its Global Shipping service cuts across the world, conveying supplies to over 100 countries.

Today, Amazon offers a wide range of delivery options and services to over 200 markets and territories worldwide.

What Countries Is Amazon Available In?

What Countries Is Amazon Available In

Amazon’s expanding retail company currently operates across five continents. Amazon fully operates in 13 countries around the world and is beginning to have a strong presence in 7 more.

Here are the 20 countries where Amazon fully operates and where they are beginning to have a strong presence:

What Countries Does Amazon Ship To?

Amazon is a global company that currently ships to about 130 countries worldwide (of the 195 countries in the world). The countries and regions that Amazon can ship to span four geographical locations on the globe.

Here’s a list of countries that Amazon ships to:

  1. Across Africa and the Middle East
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Bahrain
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Ghana
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Territories
  • Qatar
  • Reunion
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zimbabwe
  1. Across the Americas
  • Argentina        
  • Cayman Islands         
  • Guadeloupe   
  • Paraguay
  • Aruba 
  • Chile   
  • Guatemala     
  • Peru
  • Barbados        
  • Colombia        
  • Honduras       
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Belize 
  • Costa Rica     
  • Jamaica          
  • Saint Martin
  • Bermuda        
  • Dominican Republic   
  • Martinique      
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Bolivia Ecuador          
  • Mexico Uruguay
  • Brazil  
  • El Salvador     
  • Micronesia      
  • Venezuela
  • Canada          
  • French Guiana           
  • Panama
  1. Across Asia, Australia, and the Pacific
  • Australia         
  • India   
  • Marshall Islands         
  • South Korea
  • Bangladesh    
  • Indonesia       
  • New Caledonia          
  • Sri Lanka
  • Cambodia       
  • Japan 
  • New Zealand  
  • Taiwan
  • China  
  • Kazakhstan    
  • Palau  
  • Thailand
  • Fiji      
  • Macao
  • Philippines
  • Vietnam
  • Hong Kong     
  • Malaysia         
  • Singapore
  1. Across Europe
  • Albania           
  • Estonia           
  • Lithuania        
  • Serbia
  • Andorra          
  • Finland           
  • Luxembourg   
  • Slovakia
  • Armenia          
  • France
  • Malta  
  • Slovenia
  • Austria
  • Germany        
  • Monaco          
  • Spain
  • Belarus           
  • Gibraltar         
  • Netherlands    
  • Sweden
  • Belgium          
  • Greece           
  • Norway           
  • Switzerland
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina       
  • Hungary         
  • Poland
  • Turkey
  • Bulgaria          
  • Iceland
  • Portugal          
  • Ukraine
  • Croatia
  • Ireland
  • Romania
  • United Kingdom
  • Cyprus
  • Italy    
  • Russia
  • Vatican City
  • Czech Republic          
  • Latvia 
  • Saint Barthélemy       
  • Denmark        
  • Liechtenstein  
  • San Marino

Amazon does not require a retail outlet to ship to all these countries. While Amazon ships freely to all these countries, there are situations when a shipment is not possible. These shipment restrictions could be for a lot of reasons.

What Countries Does Amazon Not Operate In?

Though Amazon has an extensive sea shipping strategy, Amazon will not ship to the following countries:

  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Sudan
  • Syria

These countries cannot receive Amazon packages or deliveries because of special considerations and needs.

Also, several locations can restrict deliveries based on their content. So, while Amazon operates (ships to) these countries, it’s important to check Amazon’s shipping restrictions criteria to see if your order will make it to your address.

These countries include:

  • Algeria
  • Bahrain           
  • Bangladesh    
  • Bhutan Myanmar (Burma)
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina   
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Malaysia
  • Morocco
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates

What Countries Does Amazon Plan to Enter Next?

Amazon has been expanding its business into new markets for some time now, and it looks like the company will continue to do so as it continues to grow.

Amazon has become a household name worldwide thanks to its wide range of available products and efficient delivery systems. Amazon is determined to keep expanding and plans to enter some new countries and areas in the coming years.

Many of these countries are considered “opportunities” for the company because they have high Internet penetration rates and strong eCommerce markets that can benefit from Amazon’s experience and technology.

Here are some of the countries where Amazon hopes to fully operates in:

  • Belgium
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

This is a part of a growing initiative called Fulfilment by Amazon. Of the five countries, Belgium is expected to begin with Amazon Prime membership on its launch, with the other countries getting the membership feature later.


Amazon’s expanding retail company currently operates fully in 13 countries across five continents and currently ships to about 130 countries worldwide. Headquartered in Seattle, Washington, Amazon has over 185 warehouses globally and plans to begin to operate in more countries like Belgium, Chile, Colombia, Nigeria, and South Africa.